No account yet?
Subscription Options
Subscribe via RSS, or
Free Email Alert

Sign up to receive a daily e-mail alert with links to Dallas Blog posts.

New Site Search
Bill DeOre
Click for Larger Image
Dallas Sports Blog
Local Team Sports News
Dallas Blog
TEX Homepage News
Dallas Blog
Stars Recent Headlines
Good News Dallas
Ruben Esquivel To Receive Annual Oak Cliff Lions Club Bill Melton Humanitarian Award Print E-mail
by Sharon Adams    Sun, Mar 20, 2011, 11:59 AM


The Oak Cliff Lions Club will present its 2010-2011 Oak Cliff Lions Club Bill Melton Humanitarian Award to Ruben Esquivel, Vice President of Community and Corporate Relations of The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas, on Wednesday, March 30, 2011, at 12:00 Noon in the Weiss Auditorium of Methodist Central Hospital.  Lion Bill Tucker is Chairman of the Event.

The Award, first presented in 1978, to Dallas Cowboys Coach Tom Landry, is presented each year to recognize and honor the person (or persons) whose activities, contributions and service, best symbolize the ideals of Lionism. The Award is usually given to non-Lions who have demonstrated a dedication to community, profession/occupation, God and mankind that exemplifies the motto of Lions International, “We Serve”.  The Award was re-named by the Club Board of Directors in 2010, to reflect the name of the Founding President of the Award.

RubenEsquivelColor2007.jpgEsquivel currently serves as Chairman of the State Fair of Texas and Baylor Oral Health Foundation.  He is a Past Chairman of the Dallas County Hospital District Board (Parkland Hospital), Dallas County Historical Foundation ( Sixth Floor Museum), The Dallas Foundation, The Dallas Opera, The North Texas Commission, YMCA of Metropolitan Dallas, Texas Guaranteed Student Loan Commission, as well as Past President of the Greater Dallas Community of Churches, The Community Council of Greater Dallas, DeSoto Independent School District Board, DeSoto Chamber of Commerce and The Adult Child Training Center.

He is also the current Vice Chairman of the Stemmons Corridor Business Association and Dallas Symphony Association, as well as Trustee of Dallas-Fort Worth Hospital Council Research and Education Foundation and Dallas Medical Philanthropic Fund.   Esquivel is also a Member of the Oak Cliff Lions Club.

Other Past Recipients of the Award include Ebby Halliday, T. Boone Pickens, Roger Staubach, H. Ross Perot, Nancy Brinker, Raymond Nasher, Ruth Altshuler, Robert S. Folsom, Lamar Hunt, Lillian Bradshaw, J. McDonald Williams, Paul Bass, Rodger Meier, Chris V. Semos, Lindalyn B. Adams and Dr. Charles Sprague
Share This Story on Facebook
Comments (0)add comment

Write comment
smaller | bigger

< Prev   Next >